About Us

Communities In Schools began in 1999 after local leaders became concerned with the dropout rate in Dublin/Laurens County. With funding from Communities In Schools of Georgia, the South Central Health District, and $25,000 from the community, Communities In Schools of Laurens County, Inc. was born.

Our staff:

Jackie Curtis                      Executive Director

Destiny Allen                     Director of Site Services

Veatrice Rozier                 Abstinence Educator

Sherry Kinsey                    Teen Scene Coordinator

Luciana Turner                 LOFT Coordinator

Earnestine O’Neal           Tutor

Kylie Hancock                   Tutor

Angeline Stephens           Tutor

Tonya Mitchell                 Tutor

Lakeisha Cuyler                Tutor

Andrew Johnson              Site Coordinator/Parent Involvement Coordinator
Twiggs Co. Middle School & Twiggs Co. High School

Janet Hill                            Site Coordinator/Parent Involvement Coordinator
Hillcrest Elementary School

Evenda Stephens             Site Coordinator/Parent Involvement Coordinator
Susie Dasher Elementary School

Lakeisha Washington     Site Coordinator/Parent Involvement Coordinator
Dublin Middle School

Javonda Smith                  Site Coordinator/Parent Involvement Coordinator
Moore Street School

Daphne Howard               Site Coordinator/Parent Involvement Coordinator
Dublin High School

Advisory Council

Judge Tommy Bobbitt – Magistrate Court Judge

Dr. Lawton Davis – District Health Director, South Central Health District

Rev.Elgin Dixon – Pastor, Greater Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church/ Superintendent, Twiggs County Public Schools

Kathryn Epps, Retired

Matt Hatchett, State Representative

Penny Mackey – Attorney – Robertson and Mackey

Laura Travick – Retired Educator

Tim Veal – Nichols, Cauley, & Associates PC

Dr. Fred Williams — Superintendent, Dublin City Schools